6 Comments
author

Hi everyone! This is such a huge theme with so many sub themes that stem from it. Some unmentioned uniquely Japanese topics: game centres (arcades), pachinko, manga/anime, idol culture, Johnny's (junior) groups and their fans, music scene in general (how fans purchase multiple CDs and merch to get handshake vouchers, etc).

Expand full comment
author

Japanese TV probably comes to mind first!

Expand full comment
author

I like a lot of it and there's so much to think about. I probably thought of movies and music first though :)

Expand full comment
author

I'm a big fan of the fantasy genre, and always love learning about different mythological tales that inspire Japanese films and shows!

Expand full comment
author

My first thought is Jpop!!

Expand full comment
author

Is it ok that the first thing I think of is Takeshi's Castle? I am so low brow. :p

Expand full comment